I Let Go

Little by little I let go.
Of those who were only in my life to cause harm I let go, then of those who simply were not conducive of where I was headed in life I let go, then of those who brought me unhappiness in life I let go, of those who tried to control me I let go, of those who took all I had offer in life without giving back I let go, of those who it was just too painful to keep loving I let go, of those who should’ve loved me but chose not to I let go, then of the people who promised the world and delivered nothing I let go, then of the people who either did not know how to respect me or knew and chose not to I let go, of the people who found it easy to drop me, walk away from me and forget about me I let go, of the people who kept me around to help build their dreams and but couldn’t find it in them to support me in mine I let go, of those who brought me anxiety and dread at the thought of them I let go, and then of those who filled my life perpetual drama and senseless noise I let go.
Little by little I let go of all who for whatever reason fractured, shattered, bruised, stomped on and scarred my heart.
I just let go.
I let go then of the part of me that allowed all that to happen.
I let go of the part of me who needed to please people who couldn’t or wouldn’t be pleased.
Little by little I let go of it all.
Now my life is simple, now I am putting me first always and now I am creating, thinking, even dreaming a little but finding contentment in my life right now in the present.
I let go but I don’t feel lonely, I finally feel complete.
Little by little I like let go of who and what didn’t serve me and now I am free.

Find more of my Poetry Here

Leave a Reply

